Thursday, November 20, 2008

Hold Onto Your Wallets In Pennsylvania

From here is a list of PA House members who did not repay the illegal pay raise from 2005.

House Members Who Will Not Repay: 25
• Rep. David Argall (R-Schuylkill)
• Rep. Louise Bishop (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Mark Cohen (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Angel Cruz (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. H. William DeWeese (Greene)
• Rep. Robert Donatucci (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Todd Eachus (D-Luzerene)
• Rep. Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Rick Geist (R-Blair)
• Rep. Gary Haluska (D-Cambria)
• Rep. Harold James (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Babette Josephs (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Bill Keller (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. George Kenney (R-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Keith McCall (D-Carbon)
• Rep. John Myers (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Frank Oliver (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. John Perzel (R-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Chris Sainato (D-Lawrence )
• Rep. Mike Sturla (D-Lancaster)
• Rep. John Taylor (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. W. Curtis Thomas (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Ronald Waters (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia)
• Rep. Rosita Youngblood (D-Philadelphia)

Here is the new Democratic leadership come January 2009.

Rep. Todd A. Eachus, of Luzerne County, will succeed Rep. Bill DeWeese as majority leader at swearing-in ceremonies in January.

DeWeese, 58, damaged but not charged in the ongoing Bonusgate corruption investigation, announced last week that he would not vie for the leadership post that he has held since 1995. Instead, he sought the title of whip.

Democrats also nominated Rep. Keith McCall of Carbon County as speaker -- the chamber's top post. The full House will vote on who will fill that job in January when the new session begins.

In other races, Rep. Dwight Evans, of Philadelphia, chairman of the powerful Appropriations Committee, retained his job unopposed, as did Rep. Mark Cohen, caucus chairman.

Here is what happened to the Republicans on that list.

For the second session in a row, Rep. John Perzel of Philadelphia, the former speaker, will remain out of the GOP leadership ranks. For weeks, he had lobbied fellow Republicans in a bid to replace Smith, but failed in the end.

Rep. Mario Civera of Delaware County was reelected ranking Republican of the Appropriations Committee, while Rep. Mike Turzai of Allegheny County was elected minority whip, replacing Rep. David Argall of Schuylkill County.

And this state gave more seats to the Democrats in this election. Are they nuts or what? Remember these are the same guys who also tried to raise their pay 22%.

The last time that happened on a federal level was 1989. Actually it was a 29.5% raise from $96,600.00 to $125,100.00 for the House of Representatives. You will never guess who voted for that raise. Oh yeaaahhh. None other than Paul Kanjorski.

The name of HR 3660 that passed and authorized the raise was "The Government Ethics Reform Act of 1989". Doesn't it just make you wee your extremities.

No comments: